How do user permissions work?

User permissions are embedded in User Roles. A Tracmor user with administrator permissions creates user roles to reflect how your company implements Tracmor, setting wide permissions for persons with broad responsibilities, and narrower permissions for more limited roles. A defined user role is assigned when a new user account is created. 

Some examples of user roles include: 

  • Asset Manager. Has access to everything.

  • Guest. Has limited access to modules - some may not be visible; has no transaction or editing permissions.

  • Customer. Has view permission only. Some fields are hidden from view.

  • Warehouse manager. Has access to perform all transactions.

To create a user role:

  1. Navigate to the Admin tab and click User Roles on the shortcut menu.

  2. Click New Role.

  3. Type in a Role Name (and an optional description). A role name could refer to where the work is done, or the job title of the person performing the work.

  4. Set Module Permissions. The default setting is global permissions, so defining a user role involves narrowing permissions for each module (or tab), and this can be done precisely in terms of what the user can access, view, edit, or delete. Note: In all cases, also click Advanced for additional permissions settings for custom fields. Set permissions for each tab as follows:

    Access: Options are Enable (green) or Disable (red) for each tab.

    View: Options are All, which allows the user to view all records, or Owner, which limits view to only the records created by the user). 

    Edit: Options are All, which allows the user to edit any record, or Owner, which limits editing to the records created by the user, or None, which allow no editing.

    Delete Options are All, which allows the user to delete any record, or Owner, which limits deleting to only the records created by the user, or None, which allow no deletions.

  1. Set Transaction Permissions. From the dropdown menu, set transaction permissions for move, check in/out, reserve/unreserve, take out, restock, archive/unarchive, as follows: click All to allow full permissions; click Owner to limit permissions to records created by the user; click None if this role does not include transaction permissions.

  2. Click Save to add the new user role. (To view, navigate to Admin tab, click User Roles.

Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.
Powered by Zendesk