A role definition is the foundation upon which a new user is based:
The roles you create define permissions for modules and transactions. When you create a user based on that role, you then have the option of defining permissions based on locations.
Note: The account owner admin creates the first roles (and new users based on them). Thereafter, users can create roles (and users) within the permissions that were set for them. If you do not have the permissions you need to create roles and users, contact your account owner admin.
This article covers:
Finding the menu options
All role-related menu options are accessed from the side menu.
Note: If the side menu is not visible, click on the square to the left of Global Search at the top of the screen. Clicking on this icon allows you to show and hide the side menu.
Creating a role
Note: The account owner admin is the only user with an overview of all roles and users. Even if you have admin permissions, the only roles and users you can see are the ones you create.
To arrive at the Create Role dialog box, navigate to Role>Create Role.
Or, click on Role>Roles and click on the (blue) plus icon in the upper right corner:
Having clicked on Role>Create Role or the (blue) plus icon, create a new role by specifying the following:
- The Role Name is required. In naming the role, you might consider generic descriptive roles or map them to your organization's job titles. For example, "supervisor" or "coordinator" might have broad permissions, while someone who does not initiate or oversee transactions may have narrow permissions.
- The Role Description is optional, but including one could be helpful.
- Decide if this role has Administrator permissions. Clicking this check box will allow the user to access certain global settings and create custom fields.
Decide the Role Type in terms of who will be able to edit a role.
- If you select Default, then anyone with the same level of permissions as you (or above you in the role assignment hierarchy) can edit the role.
- If you select a Strict Role Type, then edits to the role are limited to you and anyone above you in the role assignment hierarchy (people with permissions at the same level as you will not be able to edit this role).
Important: If you click on Save right away, permissions will default to allow broad general access, so take a few moments to review all permissions to make sure that is what you intend.
When you create a new role, permissions in four general areas are enabled by default.
- Module Permissions. Every new role can add, edit, delete, and view every item in every module. If you would like to limit the role, you must click on the check mark to clear the check box. Note in particular the permissions near the bottom. With these checked, you are allowing this role to add new Users and User Roles, so be sure that is assigned as intended.
- Module Custom Field Permissions. In the early stages of building your asset tracking system you may not yet have created custom fields, but once they are in place they will list in this dialogue box so you can specify permissions.
In this example, for the custom field "Equipment Condition" permissions can be set at the role level for who is allowed to Add/Edit and View this field.
- Transaction Permissions. This table allows you to determine the type of transactions the role is allowed to perform. The default is "All," but if you want to limit transactions to only the owner — that is, the person who entered the asset or inventory item — click on the radio button to the left of "owner." A third option is to allow no transaction permissions by selecting "None." This might be useful for persons who analyze accounts but are not responsible for handling any items.
- Module Field Value Archive Permissions. This table allows you to set permissions for archiving information. Archived items are removed from active lists, but are searchable and can be "unarchived."
Editing a role
Access Roles options by navigating to Role>Roles.
If many roles are already created, you can search by Role Name, Role Type, and Created by, as shown in the fields under Role Search (top red circle). Once you select the search criteria from the drop down menus, click on Apply Filter.
To edit a role, click on the Role Name to arrive at a dialog box that provides all the options and permission available when the role was created:
Once you have made your changes to the text and/or permissions, click on Save to upload your changes (your other options are Delete and Cancel).
What do I need to know about users?